Self-Branding

Define

This assignment has been something I have been working on for the past couple of months. I struggled a lot with this whole process. We had to make a brand that represented us as a person and also as an artist. There were multiple different steps to this process.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 2.25.40 PM

Discover

During the discover phase we were asked to come up with three different words that described who we were. After we figured that out, we had to decide on a typeface that fit those three words. After a typeface was chosen we were asked to create an icon that showed who we were. Those parts were easy for me.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 2.27.27 PM

Design

When it came to the design part is when i struggled. We were asked to create a full brand, including a business card, an envelope, a thank you card, a portfolio cover and display page, a resume, a letterhead, and a bio. Putting all this together was very challenging for me. I started out with a coffee design and for some reason just didn’t feel like it was me. So I changed it to a very delicate watercolor pattern.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 3.36.57 AM

Define

When I showed my teacher she too thought that the watercolor suited me a lot more than the coffee idea. I played with some placement and moved things around multiple times, trying to make it perfect.

Screen Shot 2015-03-26 at 11.55.15 PM

Deliver

Once everything was in place, I rearranged the items of my brand on an 11in x 17in board for presentation. I’m glad I finally was able to find something that represented me as a person and an artist, This assignment really helped me to see who I am.

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 3.40.24 AMScreen Shot 2015-03-27 at 3.39.20 AM

Leave a Reply

